uems-logo esicm-logo


European Board of Intensive Care Medicine

Membership of Board

The EBICM consists of equal representation from the Multidisciplinary Joint Committee for Intensive Care Medicine (MJCICM) and the ESICM. The ESICM, as the primary specialist organization for ICM in Europe, has three non-voting places in the MJCICM, the presidential posts. The MJCICM otherwise consists of representatives of nine sections: anaesthesiology, cardiac surgery, cardiology, internal medicine, neurology, neurosurgery, paediatrics, pneumonology, and surgery. These disciplines will therefore be represented in the Board if they so wish, counterbalanced by an equal number of representatives from the ESICM. The ESICM Presidential posts will be included in the Board via the ESICM quota. If all speciality sections require representation, the EBICM would thus have 18 members.
Furthermore, 9 additional members from the European Societies of Anaesthesiology, Cardiac Surgery, Cardiology, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Paediatrics, Pneumology and Surgery (one member/Society) will complete the EBICM.
The 18 members of the MJC ICM and the European Societies of the above primary specialties will have one vote per discipline (9 votes in total). The ESICM elected members of EBICM will have 9 votes as well. The 9 votes of the MJC ICM/European Societies can be used in absence of each other member.


President MJC ICM

Prof Michael Sander

President ESICM

Prof Maurizio Cecconi

Current members


Prof Michael Sander & Dr Kai Zacharowski

Cardiac surgery



Dr Susanna Price

Internal medicine

Prof Meinhard Kneussl


Prof Serefnur Ozturk


Prof Eberhard Uhl


Prof Jean Christophe Mercier


Prof Antonio Artigas (ERS)


Dr Joseph Galea

ESICM Past President

Prof Jozef Kesecioglu

ESICM President

Prof Maurizio Cecconi

ESICM President-elect

Prof Elie Azoulay

ESICM Secretary

Prof Antoine Vieillard-Baron

ESICM Chair Congress Committee

Prof Jean-Louis Teboul


Dr Frantisek Duska

ESICM Elected member

Dr Pascale Gruber

ESICM Elected member


ESICM Elected member

Dr Maria Theodorakopoulou

ESICM NEXT (guest) Dr Stefan Schaller

EJD (Guest)

Dr Zilvinas Jucius

CoBaTrICE Chair (guest)

Dr Pedro Povoa


Purple Spider Web Design